Advisory Council

The World Congress of History Producers is an initiative of the Banff Television Foundation, with the support of the top international players in history and biography programming. The Editorial Committee and Advisory Council for the History Congress are international in scope and represent many of the pre-eminent producers and broadcasters of this program genre. The executive producer of HISTORY 2003 is Carole Orr, conference director for the Banff Television Foundation.

  • Magdalena Acosta, Director General, Cineteca Nacional (Mexican National Film Archive), Mexico
  • Patricia Boutinard-Rouelle, Directrice des Documentaries, Documentaries,
    France 3
  • Wolter Braamhorst, Commissioning Editor, Documentaries, Arts & Documentaries Dept., AVRO, Netherlands
  • Andrea Broglia, Head Manager, Documentary Department, Mediatrade, Italy
  • Ric Burns, President, Steeplechase, USA
  • Rudy Buttignol, Creative Head, Documentaries, Drama & Network, TVOntario, Canada
  • Philippe Chazal, Managing Director of Histoire, France
  • Mark Hamlyn, Executive Producer Production, Film Australia
  • Mette Hoffmann Meyer, Acquisitions Executive, Documentaries, TV2/ Denmark
  • Wolfgang Homering, Redakteur Culture and Science, ZDF, Germany
  • Michael Katz, Vice President Programming and Production International, A&E Television Networks, USA
  • Michael Kloft, Head of History Department, History, Spiegel TV GmbH, Germany
  • Francois Lanzenberg, Head of History, France 5
  • John Marshall, Managing Director, & Docos Limited, UK
  • Iain McCalman, Director, Humanities Research Centre, Australian National University, Australia
  • Richard Melman, Head of Programming, History & Biography Channel, UK
  • Pierre Merle, Commissioning Editor, Documentary, ARTE France, France
  • Bill Nemtin, Managing Director, Lark International, London, UK
  • Tom Perlmutter, Director General, English Programming, NFB, Canada
  • Ralf-Peter Piechowiak, Executive Producer, Dept. of Contemporary History, ZDF German Television Network
  • Laurence Rees, Creative Director History, Specialist Factual, BBC, UK
  • Jan Rofekamp, President, Film Transit, Canada
  • Mark Samels, Executive Producer - American Experience, WGBH, USA
  • Vivian Schiller, General Manager/ Senior Vice President, Discovery Civilization Channel, USA
  • Jody Sheff, Executive Producer History + Features Programming, Thirteen/WNET, USA
  • Andre Singer, CEO, Café Productions, UK
  • Mark Starowicz, Director Cinenorth - Documentary Production Unit, CBC, Canada
  • Sydney Suissa, Vice President, Documentary Production and Development, Barna-Alper Productions, Canada
  • Michio Tsuchiya, Senior Associate Director, Multimedia Development Department, NHK, Japan
  • Meg Villarreal, Director General, U.S. Independents, USA
  • Lynne Polak, Project Manager, TV Department, EBU/ UER Switzerland


Advertising Conference Main Registration Sponsorship Media